INTERVIEW: Stas Kravchuk (Largo Media)

Please introduce yourself and tell us a little bit about what you do.

My name is Stas Kravchuk; I’m a 23-year-old young entrepreneur who was an only child raised by a single parent.  My Mother and I immigrated to Canada in 1999 and I knew at a young age that I was the man of the house and that I would need to find ways to improve on my position in life one way or the other.  I started from owning and selling multiple European vehicles to owning 2 businesses, all of which were self-started with my own hard work despite harsh criticism from some people around me. 

I’m now the President and CEO of Brigada Fashion which is currently providing high-end clothing across Canada.  I recently opened Largo Media Inc. with a friend / partner.  Unfortunately, we did not have the same vision for the business, so we agreed to part ways and I took full control of the business.  He is now working for a well-known company in Ottawa and doing an amazing job.  Perhaps this is why they say “Don’t go into business with your friends”.

What is life like up in Ottawa, as far as music, nightclub, fashion, and popular culture?

Life in Ottawa is slower paced, but if you can’t make it here, you can’t make it anywhere as there are good opportunities.  I love on both sides of Ontario, Ottawa and Toronto so I’m back and forth working with clients but it’s a good change from a busy world in Toronto to a nice slower atmosphere.

Nightlife is ok, not like in Montreal or Toronto but we’ve got a few good spots to hit with your buddies after a hard day at work.  Ottawa is not known for fashion so it has a way to go but people are trying.  Toronto is definitely on-point with that aspect but we will get there one day.

Tell us a little about Largo Media and the people involved.

Largo Media handles anything and everything to do with design and promotion.  We do complete business branding (Logo design, business cards, flyer design, brochures, stickers, MySpace page design, and web design).  We also do CD cover and CD duplication, album / mixtape release promotion, to bringing traffic to your website, e-mail blasts, and film production.

Like I said, I’m President and CEO of Largo Media Inc.  We’ve got a very strong team who work alongside with the clients to make sure everything gets done right and the way they want.  I’ve got an amazing Russian designer named Pavel Kazanov who I actually stole from Vancouver to help me build the brand.  He is like a brother to me, who works very hard and sometimes all-night to get the project done.  He goes well beyond expectations and teaches me things along the way.  He has a Bachelors Degree in Industrial Design so we will eventually explore that area of expertise for the business.  I’ve also got another strong team member, Anton Koltykov, who runs Karma Coma Studios and does film production and editing for us.  He has an Award from New York University for Best Film Production in 2008.  As for printing, we’ve got a budding entrepreneur named Brian who works as if he is a “robot”, going long hours to all times of the night in order to get the best quality printing done on time.

What new upcoming projects, releases, or events are you working on?

We just finished a project for a new rap group called Hood Money.  It was a “whole movement package” specifically designed to hit Ottawa with a bang.  The leader of the group, Tone had a great vision which we helped make happen for him.  We also just finished logo designs and promo items for Oxygen Bar which just opened up here in Ottawa, so check that out.  Its not all business to us, we like to support charity events and help out as much as possible within the community.  Largo Media is a proud sponsor of the charity event “Children With Autism”.  It’s a great cause and we would love to see everyone come and support it.

What would you say are the most difficult aspects of being in your line of work?

The most difficult part of my job is finding the clients, because there is a lot of competition with companies who are also strong in the design industry.

I have a vision to accomplish my dreams, and dreams come true when they are your goals.  So it’s only right to make it somewhere because my team and I know where we come from.  Pavel and I have a saying that “There is no other option, but to make it!”

Who are some of your favourite musicians?

I would have to say the local group Hood Money, Jim Jones, Lincoln Park, Jay-Z, Here Below, Jason Derulo, Danny Fernandes, and a few others.  My designer Pavel likes to listen to crunk music when he works.  I’ve even caught him listening to Lady Gaga a few times haha.

Thank you for taking the time to speak with us Stas.  Do you have any last words or shout-outs?

Thank you Peter and The Goodie Bag for taking time to find out more about us and what we do.  Shout outs to The Goodie Bag, Pavel, Tosha, Brian, Mish from Wonderland, my baby sister Anastacya, my promoter Rustam, and everyone in Ottawa who is improving our city.

Follow us on Twitter to find out about our latest projects and promotions.

One Response to “INTERVIEW: Stas Kravchuk (Largo Media)”

  1. great story!!! good for the young kid!

Leave a Reply

